Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In




PLNA e-News: Protecting Values In the Nation

ANLA-OFA to become AmericanHort

Monday, October 14, 2013   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Jonathan Bardzik, ANLA
Share |

COLUMBUS - Members of OFA - The Association of Horticulture Professionals and the American Nursery & Landscape Association (ANLA) have voted in overwhelming support of the consolidation of the two organizations into a new, national trade association to serve the entire horticulture industry. The announcement followed a 30-day open ballot and an in-person vote for OFA's members, held in Columbus, Ohio.

With the consolidation, the new trade association will have the largest national nursery, greenhouse, and garden retail membership of any horticulture association in the United States. Those communities will join together with breeders, distributors, interior and exterior landscape professionals, florists, students, educators, researchers, manufacturers, and all who are part of the supply chain to represent our industry with one, strong voice and a greater base of volunteer, staff, and financial resources.

The new trade association, named the American Horticulture Association, will be known as AmericanHort, and will begin operations by January 1, 2014. The mission of AmericanHort is to unite, promote, and advance our industry through advocacy, collaboration, connectivity, education, market development, and research.

The association will have its primary office in Columbus, Ohio and an office in Washington, DC to facilitate government relations and research activities. Michael V. Geary, CAE will continue as the chief staff executive.

The inaugural board of directors was appointed by the legacy organizations. For the first year, the board will have equal representation from OFA and ANLA.

The Board includes the following leaders:

Chairman of the Board - Mark Foertmeyer, Foertmeyer & Sons Greenhouse
Vice Chairman of the Board - Dale Deppe, Spring Meadow Nursery, Inc
Treasurer - Lisa Graf, Graf Growers
Past Chairman of the Board - Mike McCabe, McCabe's Greenhouse & Floral
Past Chairman of the Board - Bob Terry, Fisher Farms
President & CEO - Michael V. Geary, CAE, AmericanHort
Joe Burns, Color Burst
Terri Cantwell, Bates Sons & Daughters Inc
Tom Demaline, Willoway Nurseries Inc
Bob Jones Jr, The Chef's Garden
Terri McEnaney, Bailey Nurseries Inc
Dan Mulhall, Mulhall's Nursery
Morris Newlin, New Garden Landscaping & Nursery
Cari Peters, JR Peters Inc
Sid Raisch, Horticultural Advantage

To learn more, visit  

Sign In


The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

Sign Up for PLNA e-News