Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In




Fredrick J. Mummert Distinguished Service Award
Share |

Fredrick J. Mummert Distinguished Service Award

The purpose of the Fredrick J. Mummert Distinguished Service Award is to recognize individuals who have served PLNA with a truly outstanding "lifetime" commitment during his or her career. This award is presented to someone who personifies professional excellence and whose long-term dedication has enhanced PLNA's services, standards or image.

The Mummert Distinguished Service Award is PLNA's highest membership award and is bestowed with unanimous approval by its Board of Directors. Candidates must have provided a minimum of twenty years of outstanding leadership and service to PLNA and/or the PLNA Foundation, received the PLNA Lifetime Member Award and served PLNA at the Chapter, Committee and Board levels.

This award is differentiated from the PLNA Hall of Fame Award in that it is meant to recognize an outstanding "lifetime" commitment to PLNA and the industry. This award does not take into consideration other contributions to the community or the recipient's profession. The award was instituted in 2000 and is not necessarily awarded every year.

Nominations may come from any Board of Director member in good standing. 


This award was named after its first recipient, Fredrick J. Mummert. "Fred Mummert was to PLNA what Babe Ruth was to baseball," said PLNA member J. Christian Snavely, III, of Snavely's Garden Corner, Inc. in Chambersburg.

Mummert, former owner of Colonial Nursery, Inc., served as president of the PLNA in 1962 and has received numerous PLNA awards including Nurseryman of the Year in 1966. In 1982, Mummert was bestowed an honorary lifetime membership to PLNA. At the time, this was the highest honor awarded by the Association.


Fredrick J. Mummert Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2018 Joanne Kostecky Petito, Joanne Kostecky Garden Design (posthumous)
2017 Carl Jacobs, PCH Emeritus, Shiloh Landscape & Design, LLC
2016 Thomas McCloud, Appalachian Nurseries
2013 Thomas McMeekin, McMeekin Nurseries
2012 J. Christian Snavely, III, PCH, Snavely's Garden Corner, Inc.
2010 Frederick A. Hansen, PCH, Hansen Nurseries
2009 William D. Wells, Jr., PCH, W.D. Wells and Associates, West Grove
2006 Richard Wielminster, PCH, Brookside Nursery and Penn College, Williamsport
2004 Richard G. Polumbo, South Hills Nurseries, Mt. Lebanon
2003 Herb Bieberfeld, PCH, County Line Landscape Nursery, Harleysville
2001 Leonard Sorensen, Highland Gardens, Mechanicsburg
2000 Fredrick J. Mummert, Colonial Nursery, Duncannon

Sign In


THE ONE SYMPOSIUM by Verdant Earth Educators

Sign Up for PLNA e-News